Afghanistan Announces Squad For Lord’s Debut

Sunday July 2, 2017

Kabul (BNA) Afghanistan Cricket Board (ACB) has announced a 14-man squad for Afghanistan’s debut at the Home of Cricket, Lord’s against Marylebone Cricket Club (MCC) on July 13.
Asghar Stanikzai has been named as captain of the Afghan side for the 50-over game. Rashid Khan and Mohammad Nabi are also in the squad. Nabi was previously at Lord’s while being involved in the MCC Young cricketers program a few years ago. On the other hand, former New Zealand skipper Brendon McCullum will lead the MCC side which includes Kumar Sangakkara, Shivnarine Chanderpaul Younis Khan and Misbah-ul-Haq too. The 50-over match on July 13 will be played on the same pitch which will host the first Test between England and South Africa, which begins on July 6. The fifth day of the Test match will be July 10.
Afghanistan squad: Asghar Stanikzai (Captain), Noor Ali Zadran, Samiullah Shinwari, Mohammad Nabi, Shafiqullah Shafaq, Gulbadin Naib, Rashid Khan, Javed Ahmadi, Dawlat Zadran, Shapoor Zadran, Rahmat Shah, Afsar Zazai, Nasir Jamal and Farid Ahmad Malik.
MCC squad: Brendon McCullum (C) (New Zealand), Kumar Sangakkara (Sri Lanka), Younis Khan (Pakistan), Misbah-ul-Haq (Pakistan), Shivnarine Chanderpaul (West Indies), Samit Patel (England), Chris Read (England), George Dockrell (Ireland), Chris Rushworth (England), Stuart Meaker (England) and Tim Murtagh (Ireland).

Show More

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button